Chit-Chat

Reply to topic

Search

re: re: re: Box food instead of Food Stamps

re: Box food instead of Food Stamps

So, I promised I would not respond anymore to threads here, but I honestly feel that I must live in a different universe of thought than some here! I think this whole idea of giving out food instead of food stamps is a horrible idea. I agree 100% with savmom. Until you experience being on SNAP of food stamps, you have no idea what it's like.

My family used to get food boxes a few years ago during a terrible time of unemployment. It came with just junk - crap that Walmart could not sell. Gluten free cereals, and lots of sheet cakes, and outdated and stale breads, and lots of processed foods like Hamburger Helper. It was awful, and we quit going. This is what the government program would be like IMO.

Food Stamps saved us. I am a good cook and was diligent about planning our meals. But always at the end of the month, our family had to buy us groceries. We got $200 a month for a family of four.

My niece gets WICC for her new baby, because even though her husband works THREE jobs now, they still struggle. WICC is a great program, but they tell her what food she has to get. For example, she is lactose intolerant but she is required to take two gallons of whole milk. She hates peanut butter and beans, but she is required to take this. She shares the food with other people. But the program helps her buy the formula her baby needs since she cannot breast feed.

These stories of cheating the system, of Cadillac driving welfare queens, of immigrants getting all the benefits of our tax dollars, might happen, but don't believe the fake news you hear. Get out there and meet the people who use the food stamps. The overwhelming number of people who get food stamps are the lower income working families.

Walk a mile in these people's shoes and you will change your perspective.