I listed an item and a buyer:
"Sahad Crusman" <scrus88@gmail.com> Sahad Crusman 3311 E. Old Shakopee Road Minneapolis, MN 55425 (612)-564-8771
Contacted me with odd written English and wishes to send me a cashier's check, I'm to hold the items, check will be sent via courier, yadee yadee. This person intends to have you deposit the cashier's check, then you'll mail the books, only to find out when it's too late that the cashier's check was fraudulent. So you end up not only out the money you sold the item for, but NSF fees, s/h fees, and no books to resell to someone else. It's pathetic - to rip off fellow homeschoolers to educate their own children? It's sickening.
|
I've received the same email. Recently from her, previously from similar. I just reply with a polite "I accept Paypal" and they never contact me again. >:/
|
I got one from Sahad... and also a Mac Rodd. They used the same verbage and closed their emails with "awaiting your response". I was pretty suspicious when each wanted my cell phone number.
|
Are you posting on homeschool classifieds.com as well? Just wondering because I got one from Mac Rodd about a sonlight core I posted. I replied that I only accept PayPal. Today I had a legitimate buyer, but I'm glad I didn't fall for the cashiers check scam.
~Kel
|
I have heard that the people who do these scams are not homeschoolers. They're just scam artists who have stumbled across an "easy" way to get money.
I worked at a credit union and this same scam was used for other buying sites online.
|
A good way to know for sure these are spammers, is to add in "Please put in in title of email Sonlight Core G For Sale". This and in body of your ad, always put PAYPAL ONLY.
This weeds out spammers and you know for sure they are legit buyers.
|
"I have heard that the people who do these scams are not homeschoolers. They're just scam artists who have stumbled across an "easy" way to get money.
I worked at a credit union and this same scam was used for other buying sites online." ***************** bingo!
if you google the name, you'll find the name as a craiglist scammer too.
and now craiglist scammer bloggers are saying this http://craigslistscammer.blogspot.com/2012/05/scammers-expand-their-realm-to.html
spend some time on that blog to learn common scams.
if you don't know the person from the forum.... it's ok to assume the worst, or not accept an offer.
|
I guess that makes sense - that this isn't homeschoolers who would rip off their fellow homeschoolers. These losers are trying to target the more expensive items for sale so they can resell them. I don't get how they can do that with an address that you ship to. How exactly does that work?
And a shame too - I posted this same message on the WTM board, but they didn't post it. You'd think they'd want to warn their members!
|
|