Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

MFW or HOD?

MFW or HOD?

I know this has been discussed before, and I thought I had the matter settled, but well, you know how it goes. See the thing is, when we started back this year with HOD (I'm combining my 2 oldest in CTC and my next 2 in LHFHG,and my youngest is dabbling in LHTH), I just felt so overwhelmed by all that I have to do with and for everyone. I know that my oldest are becoming more independent, but it is still a lot to keep up with all they are doing and teach everything to my younger 2 and keep up with a potty training toddler.

What I was thinking was transitioning to MFW since starting next year, my oldest 4 will be in the 2 - 8 th grade range. I was going to have my oldest 2 pick up MFW's RtR when they finish CTC (which they should after Christmas), and then when they are done with that, combine everyone together into Explor - 1850. I have never used MFW before, but it seems like it would lighten my load a little to have everyone together doing the same thing. Also, when I look at HOD's RTR, I see ALOT of books (expensive books) and sometimes I think the history they have scheduled in one day is a little overkill - read about history box, independent history box, history project box, and a storytime box that is usually related to the history. Don't get me wrong, I love history, but, well, it just seems a little over the top sometimes.

I know it's hard to get an objective point of view because everyone kind of has their favorite curriculum, but any thoughts or insights would be appreciated.

Also, I know some of you are thinking - go Robinson, but I have 2 who would flounder and drive me crazy if I tried to send them off to do all of their work independently. So, as enticing as that sounds, I am really not considering that right now. Sorry, Robinson fans. :-)

re: MFW or HOD?