Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

k12 vs. CONNECTIONS ACADEMY

k12 vs. CONNECTIONS ACADEMY

I am new to homeschooling and the entire process. I have recently enrolled my son in K12 (Georgia Cyber Academy). I was told good things about this program. Only 18-20 hours login weekly and the times and days vary depending on me. I was told that I would be able to take vacations at anytime as long as internet access to login. But after reading various comments, I am a bit concerned. Connections Academy is not offered in GA at this time. However the state (TX) I just moved from has it. Is there a big difference between the two?

re: k12 vs. CONNECTIONS ACADEMY

I'm not from your area, but I will give you my advice/opinion. K12 is a good cirriculum, for a quick learner. If your child needs review, I don't recommend it. I have been looking for a cyber school for my ds13 and I looked into Connections, it looked good but I want something a little more guided for ds(more teacher involved and wanted my son to participate in online classes). I went to one of their meetings and it "looks" inviting, but for some reason I just didn't feel good about going with them. I then found one that I think will be very good for him. This one is only offered in PA. If you are a christian, it's good to really pray about this. I did and I'm glad I didn't make an immediate decision, because the more I prayed about Connections, the more I was guided away. This doesn't mean Connections isn't for you, just really pray about it.

To clarify, you did not enroll your dc in K12. You enrolled your dc in Connections Academy, which is a public school, and you're required to use K12, provided by the state.

You need to understand the difference. Legally, when you enroll in a public school program, your dc are public school students, not homeschooled. You comply with public school laws, not homeschool laws.

Here's the link to an article by HSLDA: