Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

Odyssey Ware online classes.. Any info anyone??

Odyssey Ware online classes.. Any info anyone??

I just found this, and I can't see any sample classes. Does anyone know anything at all about this? Thanks!

re: Odyssey Ware online classes.. Any info anyone??

The only thing I've heard about OdysseyWare is that it is the secular version of SOS, so I would think that the interface would be similar. (And I'm not even 100% sure of that.)

The last time I heard from them, their classes were not available directly to homeschoolers. You can get them through Elkhart Cyber School (http://www.onlineecs.org/vnews/display.v/ART/466071bd2ffa8).

Audrey :)

Oddseyware online provides coursework all the way through high school. I believe it is available through schools and is often used for credit recovery. Some online schools base their curriculum on OW. I am a teacher at one of those schools, these are my thoughts.

First the good:

Odysseyware provides a complete curriculum. If you are looking for something that covers the standards and benchmarks, then this is it.

User friendly. The course management tools available for teachers are easy to use. There is some clunkiness to getting around the site, but it is all very intuitive.

Account friendly. Schools purchase a set number of licenses and that determines how many ports are available at one time. It is not necessary to purchase a separate license for each student unless you expect all your students to be online at the same time.

Messaging System. There is an internal message system that is fairly easy to use and accessible.

The bad:
Not very customizable. You have a great video or online activity you want to share? OW doesn't really offer that kind of compatability. There is a "special project" that is somewhat customizable, but it is awkward to fit that in. You can customize units by skipping certain items, but you can't really add to it.