Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

Foreign Language Program for High School

Foreign Language Program for High School

My son will be in 9th grade next year and it is time to start up the whole "Foreign Language" thing :P He wants to take Spanish, which makes the most sense, I guess. I'm open to curriculum suggestions - but not Rosetta Stone, please. I've previewed the CD and researched the program and have read many reviews and know that we won't be going with it. Other than that, let me have it with the suggestions :) Thanks!

Tami

re: Foreign Language Program for High School

My dd did Spanish 1 and 2 with Abeka DVD. The teacher is really good.

We're using the Learnables for Spanish this year with my 10th dd.

I majored in Spanish in college and started learning it in 7th grade. IMO, ABeka is the most thorough, systematic language program for Spanish that I've seen. BJU is good, too, but I think for a variety of reasons that ABeka is better. We don't use the DVDs, since I'm able to teach my kids, but the rest of the program that I AM familiar with is very good.

We are using Abeka Spanish I via the DVD program for my dc (7th and 9th)this year. I had 3yrs of hs Spanish and a total of 7 foreign language credits......The program that they are getting with Abeka is far superior to any teaching that I received. Both my dc are progressing nicely. We have recently started having a young man attend our church who is Latin American, and he is impressed with their knowledge of the language.