Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

Abeka vs. Bob Jones

Abeka vs. Bob Jones

I have been doing a literature approach for a couple of years, but I think I want to try a more traditional approach. Any abeka or bobjones users, or if you have used both, tell me everything you love, hate, etc.! How do they compare?

Thanks
Amie

re: Abeka vs. Bob Jones

If you do a search, you will find several Abeka vs Bob Jones threads from earlier posts. I know I posted one a while back. I finally chose BJUP b/c I prefer their phonics system over Abeka. Abeka does the sa, se, si, so, su whereas BJUP does the word family approach. DS has been using Zoo-Phonics at his preschool now for the past 2 years, and they do the word family approach. So, since he's already familiar with that, I felt it would be a better fit. That's the main reason I chose BJUP over Abeka. I haven't really compared the other subject modules though. I'd do a search though and see what threads you can find. HTH!
Sherrie

I'm sorry to bring back an old topic, but the search feature is not working for me. I get an error message every time I put in a topic. Thanks for anyone who is willing to readdress this topic.
Blesssings,
Amie

Ok. I've used BJU and Abeka.