Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

CLE, ACE OR ROD AND STAFF social STUDIES

CLE, ACE OR ROD AND STAFF social STUDIES

If you were to choose one of these, or a combination of, in grades 3-8 which would you choose and why?

re: CLE, ACE OR ROD AND STAFF social STUDIES

I always used R&S in 2nd grade, along with A Beka's social studies, but I didn't choose to use CLE or R&S in any other grade chiefly because they are staunchly non-resistant and not strictly patriotic in a traditional sense, seeing themselves as "citizens of Heaven" versus of an earthly country. Thus if I absolutely had to choose between those three, I'd go with ACE. I didn't feel it was sufficient, though, when I studied its scope and sequence; so if I did use it, I'd have to supplement a good deal.

We have done various levels of Rod and Staff, and just one of CLE. CLE is a lot of fill in the blank, which I assume ACE would also be. Rod and Staff does go a bit deeper. Also, Rod and Staff's program is actually history and geography, so it's kind of cool to have both subjects in one. Rod and Staff is also non-consumable, so when you're done with it you can still turn around and sell the books. My oldest loved R&S, but my youngers didn't. I don't know if it's the most interesting way to cover a social studies topic, but it certainly gets the job done.

Ok, here’s what I like:

2nd grade: Abeka - I like that text - colorful and teaches about our country in a sweet way. Rod and staff is black and white and boring IMO. CLE - same - it’s workbooks. Never used ACE.

3rd grade: rod and staff- this book is definitely cute - talks all about communities/civics things like post office/functions of fire fighters, doctors, etc.

4th grade - I used CLE’s book for a nice geography book. It’s pretty good - maybe a little dry but we liked it and supplemented with maps.