Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

New to homeschooling

New to homeschooling

I have a 6 year old and an 8 year old. Both currently enrolled in a public school. I'm having to convert to homeschooling do to the fact my husband is having to relocate to the UK. I'm unable to enroll them into a school until our visas or approved, so in order to keep the education continuos, I will have to homeschool them. I need advice on what curriculum would be best for them.

re: New to homeschooling

Welcome to the forum. I have homeschooled my 2 children for 5 years. I have 2 daughters, in 4th, and 8th grade.

It's hard to advise you on curriculum, because there are so many different ones out there, and every child/family is different. Even though I've been doing this for 5 years, I have never picked just one program; I pick and choose between different types of learning, different publishers, and use different things for each child, and from year to year.

Science is a subject that is easily combined to do with both your children together, and Apologia has wonderful elementary texts in Botany, Astronomy, and Zoology for kids your children's ages. We especially enjoyed their Astronomy one.

Other than science, I won't give much advice right now. There's other ladies here who will probably do much better than I. : )

Stevenstacy, if your goal is to keep your children current with school norms in the UK so you can eventually transfer them into that educational system, I would advise you to get as much info as you can about that so you'll know what is best for them.

If you do not plan to eventually transfer your children into UK school(s), then a lot of veteran homeschoolers here could give you sage advice. It does sound like you might need to have all your curriculum/supplies together before moving to the UK? It seems that shipping those things from the US to the UK would be very expensive.

Here is a list of courses I use for my 6 and 7 yr old.