Homeschooling Discussions

Reply to topic

Search

high school curriculum

high school curriculum

I have been using a hodge podge of curriculums for the past 3 years, but I need a complete curriculum that my daughter can use independently for 10th grade and forward. Any suggestions?

re: high school curriculum

Does it need to be a complete curriculum from one publisher or just something independent for each subject?

This is a list of what my daughter used in 10th grade. She did everything on her own & just let me know when she was ready for tests.
Contemporary Literature from Around The World & Daily Grammar
Teaching Textbooks Geometry
Apologia Science - didn't care for this, but got through it
Streams of Civilization World History
Explorer's Bible Study
Alfred's Complete Music Theory

Well, we really need more information. Christian or secular? Textbook, worktext, unit study with a schedule, or dvd/online program? Do you like a rigorous curriculum or something a little less agressive? Since you are wanting a 'package' are you available for grading, etc. or do you need a correspondence/online school?

There's just too much out there to say here ya go, one size fits all 10th graders, know what I mean?

My dd will be using:

"Any Novel" Novel Study Guide
Young Ladies Study Course for Proper Writing
TT Geometry
Abeka Biology
BJU American Republic

Any of these can be done independently by a 10th grader.

This post was edited on Mar 31, 2012 08:55 AM

I just wanted to add our experience. When my daughter reached 10th grade, I started treating her subjects more like college classwork - printed up a syllabus of when she needed to take each quiz or test. I left it up to her to decide how to prepare. If she wanted to do every exercise, she could. If she could just read through the material & be ready for the test, that was fine too. If you approach it that way, just about any curriculum can be done independently.